What Are The 7 Phases Of SDLC ?

 What Are The 7 Phases Of SDLC ?

Software Development
Software Development

The Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) typically consists of the following seven phases:

1. Planning: 

In this phase, project goals, scope, constraints, and resources are defined. This phase involves understanding the problem, identifying the needs and requirements, and developing a project plan.

2. Requirement Analysis: 

During this phase, detailed requirements are gathered from stakeholders. This involves understanding the needs of end-users, clients, and other stakeholders to define what the software system should accomplish.

3. Design: 

In this phase, the system architecture and design are developed based on the requirements gathered in the previous phase. This includes creating a blueprint for how the system will be structured, including databases, user interfaces, and software components.

4. Implementation (or Development): 

This is where the actual coding and development of the software system take place. Developers write code according to the design specifications, using programming languages and tools appropriate for the project.

5. Testing: 

Once the software is developed, it undergoes rigorous testing to ensure that it meets the specified requirements and functions correctly. This includes various types of testing such as unit testing, integration testing, system testing, and acceptance testing.

6. Deployment (or Installation): 

After successful testing, the software is deployed to the production environment. This involves installing the software on the end-users' systems or servers and making it available for use.

7. Maintenance: 

The final phase involves maintaining and supporting the software throughout its lifecycle. This includes fixing bugs, implementing updates and enhancements, and providing technical support to end-users.

These phases are often depicted as a linear progression, but in practice, they may overlap or iterate depending on the specific project and methodology being used. Additionally, modern software development methodologies such as Agile often emphasize iterative and incremental approaches, which may involve shorter cycles of development and testing.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post